Modbus / Temp Sensor and Rasp Pi through Node Red

Hi guys,

I`m having some real trouble trying to sort a project at the moment -

I have the waveshare can hat connected to my pi hoping to read data from a Rs485 sht20 temp sensor.

The can hat

The sensor-
http://www.bizkit.ru/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/Temperature-and-humidity-transmitter-SHT20-sensor-Modbus-RS485.pdf

Im stuck at what to do - Ive connected the can hat via the gpio pins and tried to get the modbus to speak to it via node red. There are python libraries used in the user manual but as Im a newbie Im not sure how I can use these to read registers?

I also have a wingoneer usb2 to rs485 stick that I could use instwad, I`ve tried connecting that to the pi yet the serial again wont read it?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Are you familiar with python? I find that using the recommended solution is a good starting point to get things working. So if there are any test scripts or example scripts you can use to validate that the hardware is working correctly, completely, then integrating it into NR will be easier.

I have a lot of sensors that are not yet in NR, but I had python scripts that worked with the various sensors so I wrote a few python scripts that use MQTT communication, which NR can interface with, once you get comfortable with NR and MQTT. Overtime, I will retire the python, for more node.js and NR native code/scripting.

I can definitely help you with getting any existing python scripts using MQTT, if you want to try to do that before jumping fully into NR. Looking at the PDF, it seems like taking the send and receive python scripts and adding to them MQTT communication, might be an option.

1 Like