MQTT performance evaluation

Hello, I'm new to Node Red and i was wondering if there is any way in node Red to analyze the performance of MQTT connection in terms of reliability, throughput ,latency and such...
And if not what tool should i use for that?

Do you have a particular requirement?

MQTT is extremely reliable and resilient protocol. It's very design was based around unreliable/remote producers.

As for latency, it depends on networks & where your broker is in relation to the client. For example, a localhost broker will deliver packets within a couple of milliseconds. A local network broker will be dependant on your network quality, but typical it will deliver packets to networked clients around 30~40ms

i don't doubt the reliability of mqtt but is just for a school research i have to evaluate the performance of mqtt under different circumstances and scenarios .so i wanted to know if there is a way to do that

I don't know of any analysis tool designed specifically for mqtt and for the measurements you ask for but...

You could setup a few flows that communicate to localhost, local network and internet brokers.

Then add flow logic to measure the time from publish to subscription arrival.

You could add counters for publish and receive & have the flow run every second for 24h then compare the results aft the end.

The limit is your imagination (and coding skills).

This flow will help with time measurement of flows: flow-timer. A simple subflow to measure time taken in parts of your flows. (flow) - Node-RED

These nodes can help with counting : Library - Node-RED

Most brokers actually have some stats published under the $SYS/broker topic.

So you can monitor that.

You could also use InfluxDB, Telegraf and Grafana and get Telegraf to pass those broker stats to InfluxDB and then chart with Grafana.