Multiple setTimeout/clearTimeout Within Same Function Node

I'm relatively new to Node Red and JavaScript in general, so am probably being extremely dense.

Basically, I'm trying to work out how to set a timer for one input, if it's false, and to cancel it if it's true, but for different topics. I know I can use delay nodes and have a different one for each output, but in the spirit of learning, I'd like to do all of this in a function node.

I can't seem to work out and I've searched everywhere, but obviously can't seem to take the information in properly, how to implement the clearTimer() properly. I've (hopefully) put in an example of a broken version of what I'd like to achieve, but if there's anything else you need to know to help you to help me, let me know.

As I say, I'm new to this, so apologies if I've missed anything blindingly obvious. This is just the latest example of attempts I've made, but hopefully it shows what I'm trying to do.