Need a little push on my OBD2 project

Good evening all NodRed-ians.
I am at a point where I need just a little push in the right direction from the community. What I have created is a flow to decode, request and interpret CAN communications from a vehicle. The goal here is to create a simple set of gauges with a user definable warning for each of those gauges. That warning would then trigger a GPIO to activate a warning light or relay to control a fan. That is for the end. Right now I have accomplished more than I could imagine. I am by no means a CS person, I am a mechanic with an idea. I am working on loading my flow so that those that are much smarter than I can chime in. All criticisms are welcomed and the more help I can generate here the better the end project will be to share with all. I am using a raspi4 and a usb CAN device. Everything comms wise works.

What i need help with is a way to get my gauges working. I started with UI builder as the examples I found could easily be tweaked for what I needed. I quickly got stuck on why it wont receive the data i am sending it. I am sure its something simple.
The next thing is converting some of the strings into tangible data has proven difficult. I have managed most of the easy ones, the rest needs someone to unlock the hidden gem for me.

This is my flow so far.

2 Likes

Great work and interesting !
I set up your flow to watch what you did.
I had to install node-red-contrib-uibuilder, node-red-contrib-socketcan, node-red-contrib-xterm to be able to visualize it better.

Unfortunately I don't use UI_Builder so I can't go further. However, I could see that you are making requests for a gas engine. Do you have any information about CANid's for electric cars?
Is the CAN device standard, like ODB2 found on Ali----ss?

Just one question, why don't you use node-red-dashboard nodes?
There are also gauges of all kinds.

Your project is very interesting. I will follow the thread with pleasure