Newbie Getting Started

Hi All,

I posted here a few weeks back, but my pi crashed and I'm starting over. My project is fairly simple, at least for someone who knows programming. I will run an Apache2/php webserver on the pi and allow users (clients?) to access it through a webpage. This is to open and close a driveway gate, the page will have one button to cycle the gate (input), two LEDs for open & close verification, and a progressbar (outputs) to show it's position while traversing. I had a thread here a couple weeks ago about it, but it turned into a security issue thread. This is what my finished html index file looks like:

I tried the NR Dashboard (couldn't make things line up right) but ended with with HTML, some CSS and Javascript. No php yet...

Being a complete newbie, I need to admit I "stole" a lot of code from tutorials and "tips" pages but still need a lot of help with the "communications" part. BTW, I don't even know how to get info moving beween the pi | N-R | and Apache2's index page!

• How to get my index.php page to listen for commands to/from pi?

• What protocols to use for this?

• How to get the button (Bootstrap), ver. lights (SVG), pg bar (JS) to work?

• How to allow only one user at a time and have that user time-out after xx seconds?

• How to get UN/PW info from the client to the server?

And most of all - I've been all over Google for days and it seems there's no way to utilise my close (X) button to kill the tab - unless - that process created it and you have the window handle to work with. Since that is the case, can my index page be a "redirect" to another page where I can intercept it's handle?

I know this is a lot to ask in one Q, but anything to get me started will be appreciated!

Russ

Did you ask for help here?

Maybe, I don't remember. My pi dumped and I lost everything. Anyhow, I know I'm in the wrong place. I'll try and find an HTML forum and post back when I get my UI finished and start on the N-R programming...

Russ