Node jsonSQL Issues

I am new to Node-Red so forgive me when I ask stupid questions etc.

I have been trying to get the jsonSQL node to work but it seems that it is not great with large files - It works well with some small sample data but I really need it for is approx 10mb and has 1000's of records. I'm afraid it just locks the system and I have to restart Node-Red.

I have tried running it on a massive Google cloud server to make sure it wasn't just my puny laptop causing the issue but it's the same.

Has anyone got any ideas? - Maybe a way to 'fix' it or a good alternative?

Thanks

ETD

Welcome to the forum.

In what way does node-red lock up ? Meaning, I assume you need a query to work with the jsonsql node. (which node is it specifically?)

If you do a select * from .... and just output it to a debug node, then i can imagine node-red to lock up if it has to display 1000's of records.

What are you trying to do with the data ?

A much better way to deal with bulk SQL updates is to use the native tools - many SQL db's have tools to upload CSV directly. You can use Node-RED to orchestrate the batch jobs.

The screen greys out and stays that way - I have to restart Node-Red.

I thought maybe it was the debug mode as well - I am afraid not though.

The main thing I am trying to achieve is to simply populate a UI dashboard based on the queries from the JSON data.

EDIT: This is the node in question - https://flows.nodered.org/node/node-red-contrib-query-json-with-sql

I pull the raw JSON file from an HTTP request so this seemed a neat way of dealing with it.

I think you are correct though and I will have to covert to CSV, push to a MySQL DB and then query it with a MySql Node and use those results in the UI.

I assume that there is a node that converts JSON to CSV.

Thanks Guys!..

The CSV node :-)....