Node red browser interaction

Hello everybody,

I'm pretty new to node-red so this may be a stupid question. I did search a lot though and found nothing.

Currently I have node-red up and running on a raspberry pi and a bluetooth smart button linked to it. What I'm trying to achieve is when I press the button I get the URL of the website I'm on at the moment and maybe some more info. The end-project is to be able to like a video on Youtube for example by the press of a button. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Hi and welcome.

I assume that you are also using the browser on the Pi as well then?

I'm actually not sure that is feasible. Because the browser is so powerful and connected to the Internet as well as your local device, what it can do locally is deliberately restricted.

If you are able to pick up the button press in the browser, then it might be feasible but even then I suspect that you would need to write a browser extension. Extensions are allowed to request additional permissions from you.

Not particularly an expert in this area though so I might well be wrong.

Well there is also the Web Bluetooth spec that may be worth looking at - https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/API/Web_Bluetooth_API - but is a) experimental (aka not well supported across hardware/browsers) b) nothing to do with Node-RED apart from using it to host the web page you are experimenting with :-).

2 Likes

Thank you for welcoming me and replying!

At the moment I've tried the "window.location.href" command in a function but I get the error "window is not defined" which is more than normal since node-red is not running in the browser.

Actually, if I could get the current URL, it would be an awesome start for the project. Like somehow defining the browser window.

Thanks again for your time!

Do you mean you have some random web page open in the browser and you want to be able to ask the browser what page is currently on view?