Node-RED & dockerfile, can make folder, cannot add text file to it?

HI,

I know not so many use docker and I am a beginner, but I am totally stuck !

My dockerfile ...

FROM  nodered/node-red:3.1.3

RUN mkdir -p /data/gb/test

WORKDIR /data/gb/test

COPY test.txt /data/gb/test

This does create the folders in Node-RED /data folder.

But when I type into CLI ... docker compose up -d I get his error ?

Error response from daemon: 
failed to create task for container: failed to create shim task: 
OCI runtime create failed: runc create failed: unable to start container process: 
exec: "./entrypoint.sh": stat ./entrypoint.sh: no such file or directory: unknown

Thanks

Do you need to use docker? If not then don't.

HI Colin,

I understand what you say, I have it all working, just some minor things like this are very frustrating.
I have Node-RED, Grafana, Sqlite and even Postrgres if I want to use that, all working in Docker desktop .

I originally took the docker route because i thought it would be easy to deploy and modify for my home automation project. mostly it is easy, but when I have spent all of yesterday trying to get this to work, it is not.

If I do

WORKDIR /usr/src/node-red
COPY test.txt .

This does work and creates the text file in that dir, but I cannot get it into /data ?

:roll_eyes:

Why are you setting workdir ? Should be fine just to create your directory and copy into it without changing workdir

Hi dceejay,

I believe I did try that, but as I have tried so many things i maybe wrong ?

https://nodered.org/docs/getting-started/docker

I have just re-read this section as I do have an external directory with package.json etc...

Dockerfile which copies in local resources
It can sometimes be useful to populate a Node-RED Docker image with files from a local directory (for example, if you want a whole project to be kept in a git repo). To do this, you’ll want your local directory to look like this:

Dockerfile
README.md