Node-RED and Docker, how to populate the nodes & flows that are in manage Pallete menu?

Hi,

My idea of I want this to work is ..
If I am not at home and Node-RED becomes unresponsive, someone else can restart the whole of Node-RED with either a simple command or click on a Icon and it starts with all necessary nodes in place and flows.

In this case it would load my default Node-RED that I have setup as I want it.

• I do have a volume setup that has the flows and nodes on a folder external to Docker.

• I have tried and failed with a dockerfile.

• Is there some script I can create that would do what I want ?

Thanks

I know not so many use docker and I am a beginner, but I am totally stuck !

I have it all working, just some minor things like this are very frustrating.

Like you I had a look at Docker because I thought it would make some things easier.

I thought it would be easy to deploy and modify for my home automation project. mostly it is easy, but when I have spent all of yesterday trying to get this to work, it is not.

Like you and many other people posting in this forum I discovered that Docker makes many simple things complicated.

I spent 10 hours yesterday trying to get this to work and for some reason now I cannot even create my folders in /data

I decided that for my home server, the disadvantages of Docker outweighed it's benefits so I got rid of it.
Perhaps the time has come for you to do the same?

Docker offers a lot of advantages, too. It all depends on the use case and its utilization.

My node-red-one/influx/grafana/mqtt/node-red-two/filebrowser/foshk/grab/signal/traefik/zigbee2mqtt/portainer-agent stack runs for almost 4 years now. And I moved it around with all its settings and data between mac, raspi, virtualized arm or amd debian. As long as docker runs on this machines, it only takes 2 minutes to recover my stack.

But, this is not what @questuk is asking for: