Node Red Version Compatibility

I am in the final stages of wrapping up the first release of a custom node. I have been using it in development for a few months and think it is stable and useful enough to release for others to use. I am always using the most recent version of Node Red on my machine, so I am not sure what to put for node red version compatibility in the package.json.

If anyone has any input on how to determine version compatibility other than unit testing on every previous version I would appreciate it. Also if anyone wants to take a peek at the library and give me constructive criticism I am open to that too, keep it mind that it is not 100% polished yet - the examples may need to be updated, the documentation and property names may need tweaking, and I haven't written unit tests yet.

Repository link: https://github.com/ebarrieau/pid-complete

A minor detail, you have the repository url wrong in package.json

Make sure you test it with all the supported versions of nodejs (14, 16 and 18)

I don't know what to suggest about node-red versions. Looking at the code it doesn't seem to have anything that is going to stop it working with any version of node red.

Is it not possible to pre-configure PID constants in the node?

There doesn't appear to be any help text.

It is a good idea to provide one or more example flows that can be imported from the Import > Examples menu. It isn't clear to me exactly how to wire the nodes up.

I see you haven't used Typed Inputs. Those are to be encouraged wherever practical.

Ideally you should provide a proper license.

What advantages do you think your node has over node-red-contrib-pid?

Hi Colin,

Thanks for the thoughtful feedback.

Good catch, I will fix that.

Ok, that was my thought too, I will do those tests.