Node-Red with Allen Bradley PLC

Hello All,
I am a university lecturer teaching industrial automation. We teach RSLogix PLC programming for Allen Bradley PLCs. We are now trying to integrate Node-red with the physical PLCs using node-red-contrib-pccc. It is working fine with the grace of God, Almighty.
Now I want to connect RSlogix emulator (without any physical PLC) with the node-red. Both of them will be on the same computer. Is it doable? Any suggestion will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Tanveer

I think you are out of luck...

https://support.softwaretoolbox.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3920/~/top-server-with-rockwell-rslogix-emulate-5000

You could try node-red-contrib-dde. I don't know if it would work for this or not.

Chris

You should contact your local Allen Bradley representative to ask them if you can get a discount by qualified educational means. You should be able to purchase soft logix PLC to do all you need. Also, having a real PLC to wire it to real world I/O is very educational.

Is your aim to just prove you can bypass Allen Bradley licensing by using Node-RED as your world interface? I cannot help but wonder about the ethics involed in your goal.

I think you misread the original post. Nothing TanveerSaleh said even remotely suggests an attempt to bypass Rockwell's licensing (and ridiculous prices). They already interfaced Node Red with a physical PLC. They want to interface Node Red with the emulator now.

Chris

Perhaps. But then you want to interface the emulator. An emulator is just that. It is a means to learn about the programming aspects and avoid the real world interface. You are saying you want to supply Node-RED as the world interface. Oh, sorry, "They".

I understand your point, but an emulator can make a great development tool and could be very useful for developing an HMI without the full complement of physical hardware.

Chris