Noob Q: What's the code to access this data?

I'm a Java noob and I have spent an hour googling to try to figure out how I access the value 125.5 in a payload represented below. I tried payload.solar_power.value and payload.solar_power['value'] but no luck. I don't know what to search for to find the answer or I wouldn't be asking.

Note: this is part of the output from a Join node. msg.payload.solar_power gives me "{"value": 125.5}" but I don't know the proper way to access the number.

Any help is appreciated!

object
payload
{
"solar_power : {"value": 125.5}"
}

Hi @bacontexas

I'm a bit confused by the quotes because "{"value": 125.5}" seems invalid.

Can you show us the part of your flow that produces this?

Also use the debug node "Copy value" button to show us the output from your join node. Use the </> button to paste the value here.

Untitled 1

ps it's javascript not java :slightly_smiling_face:

It's gotten dark so value is now 0.0 (no sun).
{"value": 0.0}

Here's the code that isn't working - commented out the attempts I made to access, but I don't know JS (or Java). I'm rusty with perl / python...

m = {}
m.sunny = msg.payload.solar_power
// m.sunny = msg.payload.solar_power.value -- throws exception
// m.sunny = msg.payload.solar_power["value"] -- throws exception
return m

And here's two screen shots that may give you everything you need, I hope... I'm sure this is a first-day-of-class thing to know and I'm embarrassed it's taking me so long to figure it out.

Can you put a debug node on the output of the delay node to show what the data is and show the code in the ā€˜StandardizeObjent node.

The issue is that all the items in msg.payload seem to be strings when the look like they should be objects which would make them easy to handle.

P.s. the code is JavaScript not Java :grin:

A picture of your data is better than nothing, but it's not the actual data copied from the debug node that I asked for.