Oh dear! Another IoT hardware collapse

6 Likes

The reason I refuse to hand over my home automation to a cloud service. And my automation is relatively simple.

7 Likes

I have no experience of these. I guess they were mostly on the US market(?) but based on a quick glimpse of the article, at least the DYI users aren't left with expensive paper weights:

With the Insteon Hub app no longer working, Reddit users recommend alternative apps such as Home Assistant and OpenHAB that work with Insteon gear, at their own risk.

While I prefer local only stuff, I don't have too much issues with things that can be made to work local only. Especially things that don't require WiFi and therefore additional work to prevent them calling home. :slight_smile:

This isn't good news and the way the founders have wiped and run is quite shocking.
It's a risk we all run I use LoRaWAN which is open standard with a good sized eco system but on proprietary RF from a single chip manufacture Semtech who have a wide portfolio of products.
It's widely used both by Home Automation folk and large publicly operated networks for commercial use.

But still I'm hoping I don't get an Insteon moment, there are not the first HA manf. to pull the plug. I've also experience this with two well funded home medial devices. The consumer space is hard and it's going to be the global brands that win out even Tesla say they are considering entering the HVAC market in the USA.

Didn't the Things Network also change the protocol in an incompatible way? But of course this shouldn't matter that much as I assume one would anyway use just LoRa without the WAN if wanting to focus on local only...

Although I haven't got any Insteon devices myself, the reason why they pulled the plug seems like a lot to worry about and not a lot to blame for the business: