Passing MQTT Message issues

I am trying to pass some sensor values from an arduino to MQTT within home assistant. The MQTT Broker is picking up the message, but no payload is attached. Here are a few screenshots, and willing to share more if it helps troubleshoot, but I'm relatively new to mqtt, so not sure what I'm missing.

As you can see, there is a temperature value being passed (the NR dashboard gauge reflects it accurately), but according to mqtt.fx there are no values coming through.

Maybe it's me, but I see payload in your screenshots ?
I am not familiair with mqtt.fx, should it show the message ? (for a more visualized method, try mqttexplorer)

I'm not sure I'm following either. The debug in your screen shot is labelled "MQTT debug"
but none of the messages in the debug panel come from that debug.

The easiest way to check that you are sending what you think you should be sending would be to add a debug to share the inputs to your MQTT-OUT node.

And then subscribe to the same topic with a MQTT-IN node and attach a debug to that. Give both debug nodes sensible names and you should easily see what you are sending.

It appears to be working via the debugs, but I'm not getting anything in HA

So it’s either a problem with HA or HA can’t cope with the format of the payload.

There’s a return character at the end of the string. You could try deleting the character so you send just a number and see if that works

I was wondering about that extra character as well...not sure how to delete it or even why it's there. The value is passing according to mqqt explorer:

Use a function node

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=javascript+strip+last+character