Posting messages into a Slack channel from Node-RED

Hi there,

This is a safety feature for a science lab,
I have a flow set up that monitors water flow from a tap (for water cooling chemistry experiments), it is read as a frequency. The whole purpose of it is if the water is accidentally turned off, or water is shut off to the building it then turns off the power to the heating mantles via a tp-link switch (using the Kasa node).

I have that part of the flow all working correctly and tidy. I would now like to send a message to a Slack channel to tell all users the water has been turned off. We use slack as our work messaging system, so this is very integrated into my workplace.

Could anyone explain how to get Node-RED using nodes to trigger a message in a specific Slack channel? The easiest method is best, I can use IFTTT or Slack API, just need some guidance.

I am not a coder or computer engineer, and I have been getting rather confused with all the new terminology I have come across, (Webhooks, OAuth Tokens, Slack API, Scopes etc)

Thanks in advance for any help or clarity on the issue
Bryce

Nothing in the flows site that would help?

Library - Node-RED (nodered.org)

Hi Bryce,

I'm using the slack-web-out node from this pacakge node-red-contrib-slack (node) - Node-RED

The node itself is simple enough to setup you to send in the msg.topic as the channel name you want to post to eg #general (with the #) and then msg.payload is the text of the message.

The auth is a little more complex as Slack have been through a number of ways of doing things over the years but I've just tested this method and its probabbly the simplest for your use case.

(You will need to be an admin on the slack workspace you want to setup against) goto https://api.slack.com