Print in line label

Hello everyone. I'm new to node-red and need help.
I am creating an interface for the management of two production lines. At the end of this line there is a networked printer (Zebra) that will have to label the pallets.
Once I have created the label with the necessary information, how can I send it to the printer?
Node red is installed on a Siemens Simatic Comfort panel (assuming the OS is Linux)

You need to find out how prints can be sent to that printer. If, for example, it supports lp prints then it should be pretty easy.

Otherwise, you may need to report back what print methods it supports.

A quick search gave me this page:

A CUPS driver that supports Zebra printers is included with some Linux distributions and Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard and later

so it would seem that the printer is supported by linux.

If you find the command under linux to make the printer print, then you can use the exec node to do that via Node-RED.

Not really clear but this article implies that lp could also be used?

https://supportcommunity.zebra.com/s/article/ZEC-Error-lp-unable-to-print-file-client-error-document-format-not-supported?language=en_US

Whatever floats your boat :wink: - if the drivers are there then it works!

More that I'm just not sure how much you can do with that unit. You might not be able to install CUPS and the appropriate driver.

I doubt very much a company buys components that don't work together, usually you would ask the supplier if what you want to do with their gear will actually work.

And if not, then return to sender.

Thank you all for the replies. The printer in question is a ZE511 Industrial Printing engine Supporto e download del motore di stampa di ZE511 | Zebra

It's a HMI, it's not really used for making photocopies (but it's possible)

Take a look at this support and try to connect your printer.

I don't know how you should configure NR

1 Like