Raspberry Pi vs. Linux Virtual Machine

Hello! I was wondering whether it would be more cost-efficient to run my own Node Red server on a Raspberry Pi or a virtual machine on my laptop. I don't exactly have a spare computer lying around to use as a server, so I figured that buying a Raspberry Pi would be more cost-effective for running a server, since I could also use it for other projects if I wanted to. I'm also kind of scared of somehow messing up my laptop while learning how to use a virtual machine, since I'm new to Linux and what it has to offer. What do you guys think?

It depends on what you end result is that you want to achieve.

Obviously running it on your laptop (which presumably will leave the house with you occasionally) would mean that anything you run on it can not be relied upon to control your house etc. If on the other hand it is just for playing around with and learning - then a virtual machine that is close at hand is easy.

A Rpi will definitely be cheaper to run than a Virtual machine on a laptop - BUT the investment in the RPi, power supply, case, fan, etc etc will end up probably paying for a couple of years of electricity for your laptop

Craig

2 Likes

Would the virtual machine perform better than the Raspberry Pi under a high volume of nodes?

Assuming that you have a reasonably specced laptop and can give adequate resources to the VM - then yes easily - but to stress one of the new RPi4 you are going to have to get it to do a LOT of work - so do not let that be a deciding factor

Craig

1 Like

Would it be possible to use the RPi4 for other functions while running the server, in case I wanted to do different projects at the same time?

Yep they are pretty versatile

1 Like