Recording and replay of variable changes?

Hi,

I'm very interested in logging changes to state variables with timestamps that can then be easily reused to review or replay the changes.

Use case: replay a week's worth of my houselight's user-generated on-off data (when I'm at home), to later simulate being at home, when we are away.

Although I'm new to Node-RED I know just about enough to see, albeit clunky, ways of doing this with a global variable array.

Is there a neat way of doing this - perhaps an existing node with "save/replay" functionality?

Do you really need to record and replay, if you can get away with designing the schedule rather than recording then there are much simpler solutions. node-red-contrib-cron-plus for example.

Interesting use-case. Possibly a little over-thought :wink:

Most of us just use static schedules whether we are at home or away. Having a light on at all will deter most burglers. Having one that switches on when it gets darker may save you a little money.

If you want to go that way though, what you are really doing is creating a FIFO queue for each light. Not aware of anything that will do that for you. Not very hard to create though using a function node. You might want to look at the uibuilder WIKI which has a caching example that you could easily adapt.

One thing you might want to do extra though is to limit the amount of storage used.

Yes, I'd like to. Plus it would be a cool feature with lots of uses for all sorts of people, wouldn't it?

Storing human-activated state changes would be useful in producing (like machine learning) predictive automated state changes, e.g. learning how you use heating, lighting, etc and making those decisions for you or, at least, suggesting them or popping up the most appropriate tab on the dashboard UI, before you even think of it :slight_smile: