Send a selfie picture from a mobile device to node-red server

Hi all

I'm quite new to node-red, looking for a solution for the following task to be done, the basic idea would be:

1. There is a node-red server with a dashboard running on a linux system at home.
  2. Any persons (with access) can send photos from their mobile device out of the dashboard to the server.
  3. The server places all files in a dedicated folder.
  4. Another process on a Raspberry Pi fetches these files from the server and places them on a screen as a slide show. Only the latest (for example 20 images) are displayed (First in, First out).

I'm grateful for suggestions.
The images should be sent via node-red dashboard as other events can also be triggered via dashboard by the users. However, it is not mandatory that the slide show on the raspberry pi be executed by node-red.

BR
Wym

1 Like

Hi Wym,
We had a rather similar question recently. Based on that question I started experimenting with my dashboard's camera and I developed a UI node to capture camera images from my dashboard's camera.

That (experimental) UI-node worked, but I had a number of open issues (which is why I haven't shared it yet with the community). My main problem was that I had to tell my browser a number of things:

• Which resolution I want, from a range of available solutions.
  • Which camera I want to use, from the available camera's (front, back, ...)
  • Which format I want, from a list of available formats (jpeg, png, ...)

A user needs to specify all these settings in the node's config screen (which is running at the server side). But suppose 2 dashboards are connected to the server. One phone has 1 camera, and the other phone has 2 camera's: