senseHAT "disconnected"

Hi, I'm a Node Red newbie and have installed a fresh updated version on my Raspberry Pi-4, which is also running on fully updated packages. I've tried to implement the basic senseHAT node with a debug node, as per instructions in tutorials. I deploy the setup and all seems well but after a brief moment the indicator on the senseHAT node goes red with status showing "disconnected".
I get the following output being continously sent to the terminal:

pi : TTY=unknown ; PWD=/home/pi ; USER=root ; COMMAND=/usr/bin/python -u /home/pi/.node-red/node_modules/node-red-node-pi-sense-hat/sensehat.py
pam_unix(sudo:session): session opened for user root by (uid=0)
pam_unix(sudo:session): session closed for user root

What am I doing wrong? Any help appreciated in advance.

user root?

How are you starting Node-RED?

JFI I've just tested a sense-hat into my Pi4 and its seems to be working fine

Hi ukmoose, thanks for the prompt response. I'm starting NR from within the Raspbian GUI, ie; Pi > Programming > Node Red

Your right - it does fail if launched that way

Close it down and launch terminal session and it should work

cd ./node-red
node-red

Actually, it doesn't fail on me if I launch via the menu - It still says connected and it still works fine (but I only get the message in the logs once whereas you said its repeating on you so that's another difference)

Hi cymplecy, I rebooted the Pi and tried your suggestion but the SenseHAT node still shows being "disconnected".
Any other ideas?

More info. Since I re-started Node-Red from within the console, I now get the following output, which is continuously repeated:

4 Oct 13:00:48 - [info]
Welcome to Node-RED

4 Oct 13:00:48 - [info] Node-RED version: v1.0.0
4 Oct 13:00:48 - [info] Node.js version: v12.10.0
4 Oct 13:00:48 - [info] Linux 4.19.66-v7l+ arm LE
4 Oct 13:00:49 - [info] Loading palette nodes
4 Oct 13:00:50 - [info] Dashboard version 2.16.3 started at /ui