Simple question for you guys/girls; brain twister for me

(Intro: I'm new to NR; am planning to use Node Red on my sailing boat; Have raspi with Openplotter; and now I need to know my fuel en de weather).

Here we go

Have Arduino with simple sketch with digital barometer (BMP280). I run the sketch and get the values via PrintScreen
Then I initiate NR and have tried to re-build this (https://iotdesignpro.com/projects/interface-arduino-with-node-red-to-send-sensor-data-on-webpage)

Once I deploy I see in Terminal this error message:

3 Dec 20:15:48 - [info] Starting flows

3 Dec 20:15:48 - [error] [arduino-board:9e7b5947.04f23] TypeError: Cannot read property 'on' of null

3 Dec 20:15:48 - [error] [arduino-board:2dca7ade.ce7e9e] TypeError: Cannot read property 'on' of null

3 Dec 20:15:48 - [error] [arduino-board:c0891553.e024a] TypeError: Cannot read property 'on' of null

3 Dec 20:15:48 - [info] Started flows

3 Dec 20:15:48 - [error] [arduino-board:d5e83eb0.89bdd8] port not found : /dev/tty.usbmodem143301

3 Dec 20:15:48 - [error] serial port /dev/tty.usbmodem143301 error: Error: Error: Resource busy, cannot open /dev/tty.usbmodem143301```

So it does not work (obviously)

My questions:

1. I have been able to build the Blink flow and trigger a blink via NR (so my cables are ok ... ;)
2. Why does the port keep giving data to the PrintScreen (Arduino) but stops giving it to NR?
3. What did I miss or do wrong?

Thanks from a sailor.

Bart
1 Like

Small extra thing. I ran the Sketch and then closed Arduino IDE to free up the Serial port

Ok solved it myself. I rebooted Node-Red. Thanks anyway

Bart,

Another idea you could do, if you have WiFi on the boat, would be get a WeMos D1 and install ESPEasy on it. It already has the code for using a BMP280 senson and many more. Set it up to send the data via MQTT to Node-RED on the Pi. You'll have to install a Mosquitto broker on the Pi along with NR, but that is a very simple thing to do.

1 Like

Mr Zenofmud,