Start/ Stop thermostat

I'm using the node-red-contrib-basic-thermostat node to control a relay output on my raspberry pi. With this setup the node starts looking at the input temps and gives an output as soon as node-red is started on my pi. Is it possible to implement a start and stop button on the dashboard so the thermostat only starts when the start button is pressed and can be stopped anytime. I'm fairly new to node-red and would appreciate some assistance.

Hi darrenra10 and welcome to the forum.

Yes, you could do what you want, but there are problems depending on which way you do it.

To over-ride the node you will have to change the flow you have.

The first thing you should do is work out how you are going to over-ride the output of the node.
Because depending on that there are a lot of ways to get what you want done.

But a question that is sticking out for me is:
If you have the flow set up to turn things on/off depending on the temperature, and: every time you turn on the computer and run node-red it is turned on, is the temperatures you have set wrong?

If it is turning on the heater because it thinks it is too cold..... and you don't want the heater on, there seems to be an underlying problem there.

I have a flow on another machine that controls a fan that is used to cool the RasPi.
There are a few modes. it can be in Automatic or Manual mode.
But if it is in Manual mode and things get too hot, there are provisions that the fan is turned on anyway.
And if it keeps getting too hot: the machine can be shut down.

But that may be beyond your needs.

I'd maybe suggest leaving that flow as is, and writing another one which can turn the thing on/off manually.

Get that working so you have two flows working.

This may help you see problems with having them - not saying there is a magic answer with no problems.
It is just dependant on how they interact with one another.