TCP In/TCP out and char "§"

Good morning together,

I have a question about TCP IN/OUT node. As my Node-Red program receives the "§" character it's output as debug on console is a not printable character. I use the String.charCodeAt(...) function and it prints out 65533.
Why?

Javascript uses 16 bits to represent characters in strings

Ok. But var res = "§".charCodeAt(0); in JavaScripts always returns 167. Node-Red returns 65533...

Well, I'm no JS expert , but

implies that it returns 16bits

Maybe the JS interpreter (is this in a browser?) your using for comparison does some extra stuff behind the scenes?

Hopefully a JS expert will be along to explain the discrepancy :slight_smile:
Simon

as the tcp node returns a buffer - why not just look at the character value directly ? why are you trying to make it into a string then back ?

I can't look direct to the character. My Node-red flow needs to read out a string from a network port 10000 and needs to prepare it for some reason. When a string conatins "a(bc?§d" characters for example, how can I react on a "§" character...

You can use Buffer.indexOf to find the location of that character in a buffer
https://nodejs.org/api/buffer.html#buffer_buf_includes_value_byteoffset_encoding

Or you could convert to a string using a different encoding... maybe binary
https://nodejs.org/api/buffer.html#buffer_buffers_and_character_encodings
as that would handle non-printable characters better.

Looks like you are getting the Unicode Replacement character passed in through your tcp connection -- why? only you can figure that out, i suspect... but there are some clues on that Wikipedia page: