Temperature with MAX31855

Hi Everyone,

I currently have a problem that seems to have been addressed here more often in the forum.

I would like to read the temperature of a type-K thermocouple using a MAX31855 and a Raspberry.

Unfortunately there is only one node for the MAX31865.

Is there a simple solution for this?

Thank you

Does that one not work then?

Unfortunately no,
I have tested it but it is only for the pt100/1000 thermometer.
As i want to use a Typ-K thermocouple this doesnt work

Oh, I see what you mean, that is for 31865 and you want 31855.
How are you proposing to connect to the chip?

hope it is ok to post this link.

Iam trying now to use the described way in the document.
As soon as it comes to the software it is difficult for me because I have little knowledge of programming. Therefore, I had the hope that it is somehow possible with nodered.

If the board has a python library then it may well be that the best way to access it from node-red is via the python library, so get that going first then ask again and someone will help you get it from there into node-red, probably via MQTT.

Thank you so far,
I have now made it so that it works using the python library. So with the help of the python function, the temperature is raised.

Unfortunately I do not know how to work with MQTT. Is this the only way to transfer the information to Node Red?

What does your python s/w do? If you run it in a terminal does it display the temperature and exit?

How often do you need to read the temperature?

import time
import board
import digitalio
import adafruit_max31855

spi = board.SPI()
cs = digitalio.DigitalInOut(board.D5)

max31855 = adafruit_max31855.MAX31855(spi, cs)
while True:
    tempC = max31855.temperature
    tempF = tempC * 9 / 5 + 32
    print("Temperature: {} C {} F ".format(tempC, tempF))
    time.sleep(2.0)

as you see i get the temperature in °C and F. At the moment i get it every 2 seconds