Test-Driven Development

Hi all,

I'm a very happy Node Red user. I use it to do all of my automations with Home Assistant, rather than try to "program" in YAML. I'm a software developer as a day job, so the ability to drop down into Javascript at any point (in function nodes) is the killer feature for me. It enables me to keep the dependencies low, for example.

However, one I thing I miss is the ability to do Test-Driven Development. I can't count how many times I've done a refactoring only to discover a week (and several commits) later that the outside shed light turns on when I enter the upstairs loo because of a copy & paste error... Being able to refactor in confidence is one of the big perks of TDD.

How does that translate to a low-code environment like Node Red? Do you have test nodes? How does that work?

Did you find any approach? I am trying the same way as you are and havent found any.

Hi,

I can't say I do TDD but in many places inside my node-red flows I insert 'Debug' (blocks of code that inject known test data to force my application to respond correctly / incorrectly).

Something like this:

I can see how you could easily create a separate Flow (page) that only contains TDD elements that are triggered in a cascade. Delay timers or completion events can let one test finish before the next starts to prevent collisions.

Link In / Link Call / Link Out can be used as the connection point between the tests and the live code.

Interesting thoughts...

Cheers,

Paul

I have a somewhat similar need, for invoking test & troubleshooting scenarios in runtime in a production environment, where I cannot modify & deploy flows as this will disrupt on-going activities.

The solution I found was to write a pass-through custom node, which executes an "on msg" function that dynamically loads itself from a selected file in runtime. The node is controlled by commands such as enable, disable, reload from etc.