Tibber API installation fails (Homematic)

Hello community

I am pretty new to Node-RED. Therefore, my apology for a probably silly question...

I tried to install the Tibber API node-red-contrib-tibber-api

Using the the installation menue of Node-RED I receive the error message "Cannot read property 'nodes' of null"

Using the command line "npm install node-red-contrib-tibber-api" I get a bunch of warnings but no error

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ npm install node-red-contrib-tibber-api
npm WARN saveError ENOENT: no such file or directory, open '/home/pi/package.json'
npm notice created a lockfile as package-lock.json. You should commit this file.
npm WARN notsup Unsupported engine for node-red-contrib-tibber-api@5.2.2: wanted: {"node":">=14.0.0"} (current: {"node":"12.22.12","npm":"6.14.16"})
npm WARN notsup Not compatible with your version of node/npm: node-red-contrib-tibber-api@5.2.2
npm WARN enoent ENOENT: no such file or directory, open '/home/pi/package.json'
npm WARN pi No description
npm WARN pi No repository field.
npm WARN pi No README data
npm WARN pi No license field.

• node-red-contrib-tibber-api@5.2.2
    added 29 packages from 26 contributors and audited 29 packages in 7.546s

11 packages are looking for funding
run npm fund for details

found 0 vulnerabilities

Does anyone have an idea what's wrong and how I can install the Tibber API?

I am running Node-RED inside of a Homematic installation on a Raspberry Pi 4.

Thanks a lot for your help

Franz

Welcome to the forums @Franz70.

If installing nodes via the command line, ensure you're doing so under the working directory that Node RED will use.

Under normal circumstance, that will be /home/pi/.node-red

Therefore:

cd ~/.node-red
npm install node-red-contrib-tibber-api

Lastly, the Node you are installing requires Node JS 14+, but your system is reporting Node 12.
I suggest updating your Node version, as the Node version you are using is extremely dated.

You can update Node RED and Node JS with