To simulate a smart cradle

Hi,

I am new to Node-Red, please excuse me if my questions looks silly. For my Masters degree project, I am making a smart cradle with some features like baby cry detection using a particular algorithm and based on that do some soothing activity for the baby, like swing the cradle or play music etc.

I am trying to simulate this in Node-Red. I have two questions.

First one is very basic: Is Node-Red the right platform to try this? ie will i be able to simulate this in Node-Red?

Second question: For using a microphone node, I tried to install node-red-contrib-mic using command ' npm install node-red-contrib-mic'. But after that when i open dashboard, I am not able to see the mic node in it. Can someone help me on this.

To answer the first question, sure Node-RED can be used for this. It sounds like you will be using sensors and maybe motors. How are you going to communicate to them? (While I have suggestions, since it is your project, what ideas do you have?)

Second, were you in the .node-red folder when you did the install? If not NR won't find it. You might find it easier to install from the Manage palette option in Node-Red.

Make sure you have one of the dependencies installed

Node-RED node for microphone (based on nodejs mic : a simple stream wrapper for arecord (Linux (including Raspbian)) and sox (Mac/Windows)).

1 Like

You might want to have a quick look at this tutorial I wrote for my IoT students.

It controls a strip of NeoPixels using a Wemos D1 Mini (ESP8266 microcontroller flashed with ESP Easy) and Node-RED running on a Raspberry Pi.

I'm sure ESP Easy used-to-have some device drivers for the NeoPixel candle.
Just looked at the firmware and can't find them.
Suggest you ask in the ESP forum.. ESP Easy Forum - Let's Control It

https://www.letscontrolit.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=7270&p=41146&hilit=candle#p41146

PS: