Totalizer difference example

I have a couple sensors that return a running sum of usage (power meter, rain gauge) and I need to split it out for calculating period based usage. This is a common question I've seen posted in various places, but the code that is generally posted uses global variables to hold the period start value. I am new to NR but it appears that the Totalizer function should do what I want in a nice modular package. However, I haven't been able to locate any examples of how to set a flow up using the node. I found one example from 7/2020 that looks like it would work but they only provided a picture rather than a flow export, so I'm not sure how to get started.

I'd really appreciate some guidance so I can start learning how to set up such a flow in a smarter way.

I don't have the node.

But reading the docs, you set a time period and from now to when the time period expires, it totalises the values.

At the end of the period, it spits out a total.

Doesn't seem that hard.

The advantage of using file based storage when doing these calculations is that the data will survive a full deploy, flows restart, or even a system reboot.
Using the Totalizer node, your data will reset to zero if you do any of the above, which is not ideal.
If you read the link above, and consider some basic maths, to total the difference between the current value and the previous value, you will get a better grasp of how to progress.

If you struggle, please post what you have done, and I'm sure you will get some help.

That's a valid point that I wasn't aware of. I assumed that the totalizer worked the same as using global variables but packaged nicely for easier consumption. Since it sounds like that's not the case, I will go back to focusing on the other, more common approach.

I found a flow that was provided including a video guide.
https://flows.nodered.org/flow/6e8e14789d0c4a80e41b5f37a54b663d