Troubles with node-red on Elementary OS involving Dashboard

All, I'm new to node-red, and I'm somewhat new to linux, as I am diving into it for IoT, and amateur radio.

I have an older hp laptop running elementary os.
I initially installed node-red via snap. I had to work a few issues as it did not install npm initially.
I installed npm and nodejs, node red works fine - but when i went to add the node-red-dashboard modeule - it fails to install. I ended up removing node-red through snap. I installed from command prompt with global switch. Went to node-red to manage node library and again - could not install dashboard. I then tried using npm - and installed that way. it lists it as installed, but doesn't show up in node-red. I'm stuck and have no idea how to proceed or even describe the issue.

Is there a reason you are using Elementary rather than, for example, Ubuntu? Not that there is anything wrong with it but you might find it easier to get help with a more popular OS.

Start node red in a terminal and paste the log output here please, that will tell us a lot about your environment. Use the </> button at the top of the forum entry window when pasting it in.

just for fun I downloaded the v5 version of ElementaryOS and fired up a VM. It seems to be based on the old Ubuntu 18.04 version - so after updating to latest packages I just ran our standard Debian/Ubuntu/Pi installer script and it just worked... fired up the epiphany browser - the workspace loaded ok - and so did installing dashboard nodes...

I'm not on my machine at the moment (at work), but it does show dashboard loading from the command prompt. I'm using elementary OS just to try out - as I'm on an old HP dv9000 series laptop. celeron dual core with only 2gb ram. give you an idea of age - it has an HD DVD drive - the beta max of high def. made the old hardware usable again. It's convenient for writing arduino code, and playing around with iot stuff.