Using Context variables

Hello everyone,

I am new to Node-Red and am trying out a project with the EmotivBCI toolbox. I am trying to get a servo running using the Arduino nodes (running Firmata). The EmotivBCI node that I am using basically returns a value between 0-100. Basically, I want the servo position stored in a variable that is initialized when I deploy the flow as 'pos=0'. I then use an if condition to increase the value of 'pos' by 1 as long as the BCI node returns a value greater than 50.

My problem is, I don't know how to initialize and store the value of the variable (for the duration of the deployment) and call it inside a function node. I noticed that the context variable does something similar, but I was not able to figure it out.

This is my current setup.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/context

Some clues...

var pos = context.get("pos");
if(pos == null) pos = 0;

Also note - if a is greater than 50, this line while (a>50) {...} will run forever & will crash node-red.

Thanks, Steve. I tried this, but as you said, it crashed because of the while loop. Also, I'm not sure if I'm using the context variables right. Could you take a look?

And do you have any suggestions on how I might go about getting my function to work?

I split my function into two, one to calculate pos values, and another to send it to the Arduino pin.

However, I'm not sure if I'm doing it right, and because of the while loop, I can't even get there.

No, you are not.

I dont think the function or loop are necessary at all, but I cant cant understand what you need nor do i know what these pink nodes output.

Can you provide details (use debug nodes from the pink nodes) and a step by step expectation of your final outcome?

PS: Loops (in particular while loops) are never recommended and hardly ever required in node red as it is an event driven system.

About the pink nodes: