Using window.open in function node

I'm trying to create a links section on my dashboard. So, I've got a button that I want to simply cause a particular website to open in a new browser tab (not a ui tab). I'm trying to use the function node after my button node with the following code. But, it's giving me the following error.

var redirectURL = msg.payload;
var myWindow = window.open(redirectURL, '_blank');

ReferenceError: window is not defined (line 2, col 16)

Hi @mooreb

the Function node runs in the Node-RED runtime where there is no browser to do anything with.

To open a new browser window you need to run some code inside the browser. To do that could use a ui_template to add some code to the dashboard that can trigger opening a window when a message is received.

@knolleary

Ah I see, that makes sense. Thanks for explaining that! Sorry, I'm pretty new to all this. Could you possibly give me an example of the code that I'd need to run in a ui_template node? Also, is there a way to hide that ui_template node, so it doesn't show up anywhere?

Seems a bit "heavy" to use a function node to tell the dashboard to open a plain html page... and I don't see any good options in the flows library. This may be a good candidate for a new "open web page" contrib node -- but I digress.

If the "Links" section of your dashboard is plain HTML <a target="_blank" href="..."> tags, the browser will open those sites without involving any node-red function or other nodes.

As Nick says, use a ui_template node to render the html links -- and since you can use "mustache" substitution, it's easy to send a msg with an array of links to that ui_template node to have it dynamically rendered, something like this (untested):

<div id="my_links">
  {{#payload}}
    <a target="_blank" href="{{url}}">{{label}}</a>
  {{/payload}}
</div>

This syntax expects an incoming msg.payload with an array of link objects, each with its url and label, like this:

{
    "payload": [