Websocket Client doesnt reconnect to Websocket Server

Hello together my name is Mo,

im totally new in Node Red. So please excuse me when i response with stupid questions :slight_smile:

I have a websocket server running on a esp32 and a node red websocket client on a pi. the connection is working well, but if i restart the esp then the client (node red) doesnt reconnect automatically. To reconnect the client, i have to restart the flows.
Is there a way to reconnect it automatically?

Thank you and nice greetz
Mo

Most people are putting ESP comms via MQTT which is designed for this kind of thing and is generally a lot more robust than a websocket connection.

I've not used NR's websocket to connect this way so I don't really know if it handles retries.

1 Like

Hey Julian,
thank you for your fast reply. I have tried MQTT already but i dont get a Connection to the Server. Websocket Server is already on the ESP. Thats why i choose this way. The problem with the MQTT could be the softAP Mode of the ESP or the Websocket Server.

I'm not an expert on ESP32, but: what prevents you from connecting mqtt over websockets?.
Based on your comments, I am guessing you're doing websockets over http, and this is why you need to reestablish the handshake.
Mqtt should be the transport used, as @TotallyInformation has already suggested.

1 Like

Hey Lu4t,

yes im using websocket over http. I didnt try mqtt over websockets.
Do you have some example?

Sorry, I don't understand why you aren't using MQTT directly. If there isn't a route to your normal MQTT broker, stand up another broker on the same device as Node-RED.

1 Like

Hey Julian,