WiP: tasmota + node RED + blynk --- thermostat

Hi folks,

this is Work in Progress and not finished yet, but I'd like to share some of this in order for feedback and thoughts on how to improve.
I am a beginner with node RED (and java script) so please be kind :sweat_smile:

This is a solution to a special thermostat problem (Note: PID will not work here) for heating a water supply with a very slow heating element (a heat pump).
The goals for this are:

• energy efficiency for heating the water (wait as long as possible before turning on the heater) as the heat pump should run at a straight line, as long as possible
  • prepare the hot water supply according to schedule(s). This is different from a standard schedule/timer thermostat, as the goal is not to turn on the heater at a scheduled time but to have the water supply readily heated at the scheduled time.
  • comfort: enable extra schedules (like party and vacation mode), enable on mobile devices (thus using blynk)

....these top requirements have been fulfilled by an embedded thermostat which was subject to a lightning strike some time ago. Since then a replacement is not available on the market and it has been replaced by a standard heating controller (hysteresis driven) with no schedules.
The family (and the energy budget) needs these features back, so I started to work on my own solution.

• high availability/redundancy (put in some extra safety elements if internet, WLAN/home-net or local building blocks break down)...this is for securing the WAF for sure :slight_smile:

The new controller is build on a Wemos D1 mini (ESP8266) device, with

• DS18B20 temperature sensor/probe
  • RTC DS3231 module
  • RELAIS module
  • (optional) OLED display
  • (optional) push-button(s)
  • case/housing
  • tasmota firmware from here: Tasmota firmware

...assembly picture shown below.