Communicate with inverter via RS-232 to Ethernet gateway MOXA NPort 5110A

Hi folks,
my actual setup consists of a PV power plant using a Studer Xtender XTM 4000-48 battery inverter and the corresponding RS-232 interface (Xcom-232i) to control the device. I would like to use the MOXA NPort Ethernet bridge instead of plain RS-232 communication due to the rather large distance (> 20m) between the inverter and the Raspberry Pi running Node-RED v3.0.2.

I'm actually stuck pretty much at the beginning: While I was able to setup a simple TCP listener which obviously connects fine, but can't send any data to the device. It's due to my lack of knowledge about setting up a TCP/IP connection on low-level base, especially in this special case when it's initiated by the device to be controlled (TCP client mode). As a web developer, I'm usually using more high-level programming languages like JavaScript, C# and .NET Core.

Can anybody explain to me how to do this or give me a guideline or link to a respective tutorial, where I can gain some more expertise?
I want to know how to establish a bidirectional TCP/IP connection with this gateway as well as read and write data from/to it correctly, which means in human-readable string format.

Thanks for any support in advance.
Please feel free to ask any detail of my setup.
I guess, a flow JSON of my still rather simple setup (tcp-in node --> debug node) does not shed much light on this specific case, as it is rather useless without the hardware involved.

I did some quick searches, this Studer device appears to be talking in modbus (which is RS-485), the ethernet bridge appears to support this protocol.

Perhaps the modbus node can help you to connect/read/write ? I am not familiar with this protocol and you will need protocol documentation from Studer (see the Xcom-485i download link under "software and updates"). There are some modbus experts here on the forum who might be able to assist.