Connect and use an SQL db

Hi everyone, so i'm new to SQL databases, but i'm trying to learn. I've an db implemented but i can't connect with it, i'm using the "node-red-contrib-sql" and when i configure the server it should (for what i believe) automatically retrieve all tables availables (i've some), but it doesn't retrieve anything (the db works fine). Can someone helpme? What info do you need?

1 Like

step 1: can you connect to the database and add retrieve data without using node-red?

step 2: what do the node-red logs say?

i can connect to the database and retrieve data without node-red.

it appears a red triangle over the node (the one that means that something is not configured), if i ignore that and inject something on the node this is thrown: "Error: Pool was destroyed"

Andres,
I had some initial errors as well. The information does not tell you that if you connect using SQL permission you need to blank the domain. You cannot use both domain and SQL sign on. If you sign on as Windows permission, you may need the password as part of your login however. Hope this helps.

Sorry, i didn't understand your answer. In the part where you can edit the info of the server you have the following fields (and what do i believe what i have to put):

• Name: this field doesn't matter to the server
  • Dialect: for a sql database i believe that i have to select the PostgreSql
  • Host | Port: ip of the sql server | port of the sql server
  • Database: name of the database
  • Username: username of the sql server
  • Password: password of the sql server
  • Minimum number of connections: i have no idea what this is for (i just put 0)
  • Maximum number of connections: also i have no idea what this is for (i just put 2)
  • Use SSL: i believe that this is for secure conections

Note, the SQL server and the node-red are not working on the same pc.