Delete and reinstall Node/NPM and Node Red WITHOUT removing current nodes, rPi

Hi all, thank you in advance for the assistance and please pardon the long post!

Could someone please detail, or refer me to, the process for removing and reinstalling Node, and Node Red? BUT, I don't want to lose the progress I've made and so I'm afraid to undo the progress I've made (esp after bricking my Pi last week!) I'm quite new to RaspPi, linux, node, and node red and have made strides but have hamstrung myself - by likely installing node twice (as both root and user). And, I'm unclear on the processes because there's conflicting info I find (which often is OS dependent it seems, or quite dated).

After "bricking" the Pi and starting over, I have a critical project coming on deadline, please help!

I tried this solution detailed here to copy my
My current situation with versions which I think indicate I've screwed up the installation...
....Bash history log attached
bash_history.pdf (26.3 KB)

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ which node-red
/usr/bin/node-red

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo which node-red
/usr/bin/node-red

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ which node
/home/pi/.config/nvm/versions/node/v14.5.0/bin/node

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo which node
/usr/local/bin/node

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ node -v
v14.5.0

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo node -v
v14.5.0

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ npm -v

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo npm -v

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ which npm
/home/pi/.config/nvm/versions/node/v14.5.0/bin/npm

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo which npm
/usr/local/bin/npm

When trying to install some packages, I'm getting errors like:

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo npm install i2c-bus

i2c-bus@5.2.1 install /home/pi/node_modules/i2c-bus
node-gyp rebuild

gyp WARN EACCES current user ("pi") does not have permission to access the dev dir "/root/.cache/node-gyp/10.22.1"
gyp WARN EACCES attempting to reinstall using temporary dev dir "/home/pi/node_modules/i2c-bus/.node-gyp"
make: Entering directory '/home/pi/node_modules/i2c-bus/build'