FlexDash: towards a new dashboard for Node-Red

Over the past few weeks I've been working on a new dashboard. Initially my goal was to throw something together I could use to replace my use of the standard NR dashboard because I've outgrown it. But as I dove into it, it became a fun project and so I'm ending up building far more than I initially expected. In part, I also realized that if I want to use this for the next decade (I've been using NR for 5-6 years by now) I better build it so its use doesn't require much javascript, html, or css knowledge, because I'm bound to forget it all again over that time frame :slight_smile:

Currently there's a demo available at FlexDash which runs entirely in the browser (no node-red connection) and displays random data. This demo has all the code to connect to NR but for now it's easier to work with generated data. Keep in mind that this is very preliminary.

I thought I'd start this thread as a way for me to record design decisions and perhaps to get some input. In the end, what I'm trying to end up with is three-fold: a new dashboard for myself, a dashboard that is not tied to node-red so I can use it elsewhere too, and a dashboard that others can use and contribute to as well. As you can see, I'm quite selfish :innocent:

Before diving in I want to acknowledge that nothing here is new. It's all existing ideas rehashed, I'm just documenting which ideas I decided to borrow. :yum:

Self-contained Dashboard