GPSD appears to prevent system from loading

Hi,

I am fairly new to Pi despite years of Windows programming and after my first fairly intense day with the totally brilliant Node-RED, am marvelling at its usefulness.

Using Palette, I installed GPSD into a very successful flow and it appears to have messed up everything. Starting up Node-Red I get......

16 May 16:44:53 - [info] Starting flows
16 May 16:44:53 - [info] [gpsd:edcf736f.9623e8] Registering "tpv" event
16 May 16:44:53 - [info] Started flows
16 May 16:44:53 - [red] Uncaught Exception:
16 May 16:44:53 - TypeError: Cannot read property 'log' of undefined

• at log_helper (/usr/lib/node_modules/node-red/node_modules/@node-red/runtime/lib/nodes/Node.js:496:16)*
  • at Object.Node.error (/usr/lib/node_modules/node-red/node_modules/@node-red/runtime/lib/nodes/Node.js:524:9)*
  • at Socket. (/home/pi/.node-red/node_modules/node-gpsd/lib/gpsd.js:72:25)*
  • at Socket.emit (events.js:376:20)*
  • at emitErrorNT (internal/streams/destroy.js:106:8)*
  • at emitErrorCloseNT (internal/streams/destroy.js:74:3)*
  • at processTicksAndRejections (internal/process/task_queues.js:82:21)*
    nodered.service: Main process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
    nodered.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.

Can anyone please advise as to how I can remove GPSD from the system? Is there an editable file listing all the additional nodes introduced so I can stop the system looking for GPSD?

I really would like to keep the flow which I have created so far.

Many thanks for reading this - all guidance gratefully received!

Welcome to the forum @NPT

If you start node-red in a terminal using the command
node-red --safe
then it will start it in safe mode without starting the flows. Then you should be able to do what you want. If node-red still crashes straight away then you will have to remove it from the command line. In that case tell us what you installed and exactly how.

1 Like

Hi Colin,