Introducing Flowchain Champions🎮

Hello everyone,

I'm Thodoris Ioannidis and I'm a full stack blockchain developer. I've been using Node-RED for the past year and I 'm the author of various nodes ( Blue-Sec Nodes (collection), node-red-contrib-json-logic, node-red-contrib-mcdm) for Node-RED as well as CLI tools to help with the development of new nodes (nodered-node-incubator).

While developing these tools, and for my MSc Digital Systems Security thesis, I experimented on how to introduce gamification to the learning curve of Node-RED and create a fast and easy way to interact with modules, flows and subflows. My aim was to create a gamified training method, which would involve playing objectives and solving tasks, using gamified Storylines focused at various topics for Node-RED.

This led to the development of Flowchain Champions, a gamification server for Node-RED featuring an enhanced version of the tutorials Cookbook, playable gamified Storylines and a Fabricator tool to provide a quick and easy boilerplate code for new Nodes.

The platform is developed with Bun as an ElysiaJS server with a React SAP for the game front-end, featuring a locally embedded database with the level module to keep track of player profiles, their progress and new recipes and storylines.

The server's main focus is on Node-RED training and gamification with flow-programming exercises:

• The Cookbook has been enhanced to a more modular version that provides compact use-cases of flow-programming and importable flow examples that you can interact with seamlessly. The server features around 50+ recipes, while new ones can be easily crafted.
  • The Storylines is where gamification comes to play, these are bundled challenges that a player can solve for a specific Node-RED topic or concept. Right now the server features a small number of them, but new ones can be very easily developed from the menu.