Msg.length is returning an empty object as a result?

Hey all,

I am new to Node-Red and am running it in Home Assistant. I am also new to HTML with very little previous programming knowledge(some Basic/Visual Basic/Access/C++). Yes that says Basic.

I am pulling an https request from OpenWeatherMap.org that is returning an array of objects(i think?). Is there a way to iterate through all the elements of all the objects and round all numbers to no decimals?

I tried:

var x = 0;
var len =  {payload: msg.payload.length };

while (x < len) {
	if (typeof msg.payload[X]	!== 'string'){
		msg.payload[x] = Number(a.toFixed(0))
	}
x++
}

which did not work.

I then tried to set msg.payload.len to the length function with:

msg.payload.len = {payload: msg.payload.length };

and I get this:

As you can see I have .len shown as an object under msg.payload and it shows empty in the debug window. I have tried with and without the () after .length.

Any help appreciated. All of my searches give me nothing except that {payload: msg.payload.length} should work. I tried msg.length as well.

George

Looks like a object of objects.

msg.payload.len = {payload: Object.keys(msg.payload).length };

To be sure an example of the return object from the api request would help.

I am playing with the node openweathermap myself.

It may be a good idea to get that node and use it to parse/create a message for the place you want to get the weather.

Though, if you want to do it that way, I would open all the messages and point to the exact data you want to see/use.

Wow thanks for the quick response.

That does return the total number of the objects in the .payload. It return 16 which is the first level of objects, but how do would I make it look inside each object also?

Here is the list from debug:

I would like to not only like to have "day1" counted, but also the items listed under "day1."

Any Suggestions?