Need help with mqtt an to create a json string

Hello,

I hope to ask my questions here at the right place, because I'm a newbie in working with node-RED.

I'm trying to implement the following project:
I got a Zigbee Thermostat Radiator Value (TRV) and a separate temperature sensor in my room, communicating both via MQTT.
The TRV has an own thermometer, that measures the temperature near the radiator and an offset function, to calibrate the local temperature manually. But this offset is quite inaccurate, because between the cold and the hot radiator the respective offset to the room temperature differs a lot.

Now, my aim is to send a dynamic offset value to the TRV, so that it always uses the right room temperature for heating.
The steps I want to implement with node-RED are:

1. Subscribe a JSON string from the TRV and the temperature sensor
  2. Compare the temperature values
  3. Calculate the necessary offset Value = [Temperature Sensor] - [Temperature TRV]
  4. Create a new JSON-String and publish it to MQTT

Where I need most help is how to work with a function-node and how to create a new JSON-string for the Output to MQTT.

It would be great if anyone could show me an example of a project similar to the described before. Actually, I do not know how to start and how to go the first steps. I would be grateful about every kind of help.

Thanks and best regards - Daniel

It would be helpful if you shared examples of the data msgs so that we can help directly. As you are dealing with multiple messages, you will need to keep track of the last inputs using context variables.

To output JSON, you can just send a msg.payload object and it will become a stringified JSON value in MQTT.

The offset should only be set once, as it will always be the same offset. The offset on mine are like -5C compared versus the room temperature. When heating, the room and TRV are somewhat in the same ballpark when at the target/desired temperature.