Need some help getting my Insteon devices as entities in Home Assistant / Node Red Rpi

I'm in the process of replacing HomeSeer Rpi/Insteon with Home Assistant / Node Red /Rpi /Shelly.

I've got HA to recognise the Insteon 2423U PLM as an entity but not sure where to begin to get my Insteon Devices into entities for HA/Node Red. I've read it's possible and searched for quite some time but nothing explaining this. No problem getting Shelly devices recognised.

Any help getting started would be appreciated.

Thanks

Probably best asked on the HA forum as not too many HA users here

Ok i was wondering about that but since I’m just getting started i was hoping there’s someone out there whose already gone down this road.

I’ll post there but also hope someone steps in. I’ve never been a coder so I struggle with scripting and CLI so I’m hoping to avoid it.

Thanks.

If you were using node-red natively, rather than the HA plugin then we would be more likely to be able to help.

1 Like

Thanks Colin. I'm only just learning HA and Node Red were separate platforms. With the explosive uptake to HA and the number of HA node red instructional videos being introduced, I think you'll see a lot of HA posts. I didn't know about Node Red until I started moving over to HA.

I posted on the HA forum and also an Insteon forum on Redit. Thanks gents!

1 Like

Solved!!!

I think you'll see a lot of HA posts

Note that node-red can do everything that HA can do plus more.

HA is more like a convoluted state machine. Many people on this forum do their home automation/dashboards directly in node-red. There are nodes available for most devices, not much different from HA. While it can handle various other tasks at the same time too. Some things are easier on one platform vs the other.

2 Likes