Node-red multi-user workaround

Hi, I know that node-red is a multi-instances software but not multi-tenant.
However I need to make it used by different users with different data (identical flows). So I was thinking to a workaround in order not to loose all the work done till now.
What I was thinking is to start more instances of node-red, create a login interface (obviously external to node-red) so that, knowing the logging user I can pass the dedicated parameter as context variable to the first instance available. The main problem I'm facing is that I cannot pass the database and its credential to the node (mysql), and other connecting device.
Have someone already tried this adventure? what kind of major problems can I encounter that would be better to take in mind before starting it?
Thanks to all

The question of multi user access come up in the forum regularly. I have done some basic testing on a solution
I have a "master" Node Red and MQTT broker running on Ubuntu with the main flow, I then have a Docker installation of Node Red for each user with different log in credentials. It is then possible to have flows specific to each user and also have access to the common flows. It does require carefully configuration of MQTT topics and retain flags on topics.
This is not teh most elegant solution but should be possible

1 Like

Hi mtoko. Thanks for replying. I have necer used Docker before.

• Does it works even on windows?
  • I need to have node-red installed and working on a main PC (let's say a "server") and users that can reach it via web. So I cannot install anything on user's devices.
    But the idea of having just one instance of node-red running would be wonderful

It is incredibly easy to run multiple instances (docker is a new world of hurt if you're not using it already)

See this...

and if you want complete freedom (even to run different versions of NR for your different instances), have a look at my alternate installer.