Node red to internet with 4G box and openvpn

Hello,
I want to access to Node Red dashboard over internet.
So i have installed a OPENVPN server on a vps host by OVH. Node Red was host on a raspberry pi and connected to internet with 4G box (ref box Huawei flybox) and obviously i have installed openvpn client on Rpi.
My problem is: I can't access to node red througt the vpn but i can access SSH or VNC with my phone connected on the VPN but node red is not accessible.

I try to openport with iptables on Rpi but no change.

So i need your help, and sorry for bad english i'm french :slight_smile:

Thank you in advance for your answer,

I'm not an expert, but I think you will have to open ports in your modem/router thingy.

Like port 1880. I think. That is the port Node-Red uses.

But more than that, I can't say.

1 Like

Not all VPS hosts allow vpn endpoints to be run - did you check your terms and conditions before doing this?

Also, you've put all the trust in a shared server running on a shared platform which isn't the most secure arrangement. I assume that you've done this so that you don't have to leave the 4G connection live all the time? If not, then why not simply run the VPS server on the Pi and simplify the whole thing (also making it probably more secure)?

2 Likes

Reading what you have written it appears

1. OpenVPN server is installed in the cloud on a hosted platform
  2. OpenVPN client is accessing this VPN from a RPi (over 4G) - your Node -Red instance is running on this same RPi ?

If this is so then it appears to be a little backwards

Usually you would access an OpenVPN server (through whatever method) and that OpenVPN server would have a series of SUbnets/addresses that it made available to access (which is usually pushed out to the OPenVPN clinet (dependant on exact configuration)