NODE-RED versus?

Hi,
Appoligies in advance because these questions may seem a bit simplistic.

Backround:
I have built a few projects with ESP8266 and arduino that send data to a webserver.
I use simple HTML PUT and GET to php pages on the webserver, which then gets transfered to a mysql database.
I'm far from an expert on any of this ( I have no formal programming or network training) .. but these systems work and seem easy to create.

It has been suggested to me that I should consider using MQTT and NODE-RED.

Could someone explain the the differences and benifits between my system and the proposed system.

( I've seen large amounts of turorials and on Mqtt and node-red... but very little that explains how these are better than my system)

Is there better security with MQTT /Node-RED... if yes could you explain why and how ?

I would much appreciate your insight to this .. and please bear in mind I'm not an expert on any of the topic above so am just trying to educate my self.

thanks

2 Likes

You get a lot more capability with Node-RED. You are able to run logic on a Pi or better and integrate with cloud services, save historic data in databases, run more powerful dashboards and much more. You have many more integration options.

Node-RED also gives you more options for security, including https, firewalls and the like.

MQTT lets you disaggregate your IoT devices and compute capability in Node-RED. It makes it much easier to move things around and expand your IoT network over time. It also makes processing easier in Node-RED since you can subscribe to a topic and only process when changes happen.

1 Like