Separate Network: ESP32 communication Node Red

Hi All,

I'm very new to Node Red but already love the capabilities of it!

Currently, I'm working on a project where I would like to send/receive data from an ESP32 to Node-Red.
The idea is that the ESP32 will be connected to the internet using a WiFi hotspot from a mobile phone.
Node Red will be running on my Windows home computer.

So far I get the data communication working whilst both devices are on the same network.

As the network part is new for me I don't know exactly how to continue. I've been reading up on port forwarding etc. but would like ask how I could accomplish this in a secure way?

I'm looking forward receiving your ideas!

Kind regards,
Colin

Something like this

ESP32 -- WiFi hotspot in mobil -- secure MQTT Cloud service -- Node-RED via secure MQTT

1 Like

Thanks for the quick reply.

One thing I forgot to mention. I was thinking about doing it without publish/subscribe or GET/POST by means of TCP/IP.

The order in which I receive/send the messages is important and it should be with low latency.

Well, then there is more work for you to do to make it really secure. I think others can/will reply hinting about proxy servers etc etc

...just doing a port forwarding...don't!!!

1 Like

Indeed, while reading up on port forwarding there where so many disadvantages, mainly concerning security, that for somebody inexperienced as I am on this topic another solution would be highly appreciated!

You mention the order is being important, would it work if you add a followup id to the data so that upon arrival you can verify that the order is correct or sort it so that it will match up?