Notification when Aqara binary senors went offline

Hey guys!
First of all I have to confess, I'm a noob :slight_smile: I get things working most of the time but if it comes to coding it's over for me :slight_smile:

What I'm trying to do is a "watchdog" for my Zigbee Sensors (Aqara Door/Window Sensors). I thought about a Timer which activates every 10 minutes the phoscon get node for the specific sensor. The node provides then the timestamp-value for "last updated".
As a next step I thought about a function node which compares the "last updated" timestamp with the current time, and if the time difference is higher than one or two hours it notifies me via my Telegram node or sth.
BTW: Do I need to do some timezone corrections? It seems to me that the timezone is not as I initially adjusted it in my HomeAssistant / NodeRed confguration.

Does this approach make sense to you and if so, can you help me with the function node?

Thank you in Advance
Alex

If you have a point in your flows where you have regular messages coming in and want to detect the fact that no messages arrive within a given time, then connect them to a Trigger node, set to Send Nothing then after 60 minutes (or whatever) send the timeout message. Set Extend Delay on new message and that will mean that it keeps restarting the timer every time a new message comes in. If no messages arrive for 60 minutes then it will send the message.
If you want it to fire 60 minutes after a reboot or node-red restart if no data comes in then also connect an inject node set to inject once on startup and that will set the timer going immediately.

2 Likes

Hay Thank you Colin! Unfortunately I have to "request" the sensors. And then I have to examine the payload for the "last updated" state. The sensors don't fire any payload as far as I see if not requested actively or if no state change happens.

Regards

Add a debug node and show us what comes back from the sensor.

Here you are: