Raspberry Pi Email Notifications

Hi guys.. I need some help. I'm pretty new to Node-RED. I watched a tutorial on "sending Email using Node-RED" on youtube. Thats the eaxt title if you are interested. I set it up exactly how the tutorial described, but I'm getting an error. Its telling me "Error: Invalid Login: 535-5.7.8 Username and Password not accepted. I quadruple checked that my username and password are correct in email node, but still getting this error.

Im using raspberry Pi 3 w/ all current software updates on pi and Node-RED. I'm also using an gmail address

Can you guys give me some advice?

With the help from a fellow user on the Node-RED FaceBook page, we figured it out. It was a security issue w/ Gmail.

It would be nice if the fact that the sending Gmail account needs "less secure access enabled" (and verified, it generally doesn't work until you respond to the notification Email about the change) could find its way into the "info" box for the node setup dialog.

Pull requests always welcome.

Don't you just hate it when Dave says;

:wink::wink::wink::wink:

No, I'd do it if I knew how. I assume its a GitHub thing. I think a better writer could do better than what I posted, but the question keeps coming up. Getting to the point at which I knew how and where to submit a Pull Request is a whole lot more effort that just typing in the key to making the Email node actually work.

Basically it never works initially unless you already been using your Gmail with "less secure access" enabled.

Based on the "nag" Emails i periodically get from Google, I suspect this "feature" is in danger of being remove.