Regarding obtaining a number

Hello All,

I am new to Node red and my skills at coding are really low. lol
However, I am working with a software from where i am scanning a bar code using a tool and I am trying to send the data to node red using a link and establishing a connection with the device. On the dashboard i am being able to see the data in string format. What i want to do is just be able to obtain the number from the string.

This is the flow. At this stage it is disconnected.

Change the debug node to display the 'Complete msg object' and add a second on to the output of the TCP node. Run it and show us what is coming out

Ok, (oh, I see someone else is replying, but here goes @zenofmud and his reply beat mine in being posted)

Post what you see from the debug node.

That would help.

The number 00384290470000000010 is what i just need to obtain and display using the output node. I am basically trying to write a function where i will just obtain that number which my barcode scanner is reading

Ok, see the little triangle just to the left of the payload in the output?

Click it and that will expand what is there to even better readability.

Oh, and do as Paul (@zenofmud) suggested: Put a debug node on the output of the tcp node also. And make it also show the entire message.

okay doing

You just missed where I meant.

Try this one:

i added another debug node to the output of the tcp. However, now my debug node shows nothing. This picture above is before i cleared my debug

What options do you have set in ther TCP in node?

Both nodes are turned "off". Click on the buttons at the right (which are now kind of empty boxes) and they will become filled green boxes.

hahaha im sorry for making such silly mistakes
Anyway,

Ok, so you are sending in a stream of strings - why are you using a json node?

Ok, now to get down to business.

Rather than posting screen shots.......